Default Settings

de·fault dəˈfôlt/
a preselected option adopted by a computer program or other mechanism when no alternative is specified by the user or programmer.
revert automatically to (a preselected option).

     Image result for default settings

All my life, I have been under the impression that if you switch a device back to the default settings, it will mess up all the hard work that went into getting things programmed. Actually, default settings are used when there is trouble with the way a device is functioning.

Last week, I had a very enlightening conversation with someone. The person started talking about how they cope with certain areas in life. Very frank, they stated, “I go to my default settings”. Confused by the use of that phrase, I asked for an explanation.”  They went on to say, “when life gets too hectic for me, I go to my default settings.” That simple statement captivated me and brought so much peace to my mind that it compelled me to share this letter.

They went on to say, “sometimes I have to go back to my original place of peace, happiness and safety in order to keep from going to a dark place or a bad space in my head. Going back to and seeing things from my childhood is one of my default settings or my initial reference point of happiness. My childhood was a pure place, a worry-free place, and fun place where nothing else mattered; the peace of my childhood could in no wise be disturbed.”

I gathered from the conversation, that many times, if we are not careful, responsibilities and monotony will drive you to a place of dysfunctionality. You will become numb and miserable. Marriages suffer from this. Careers suffer from this and this list goes on. The cares of life will make you disgruntled and may even affect your health.

I know that Paul noted, “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”  (1 Corinthians 13:11) But in this case, reverting to some places when you were younger just might be the solution to you regrouping and getting back to happiness. Reverting to childhood is only one default setting.  Personally, all it takes for me is to hit the default settings of all things cookies, ice cream, a good book and most important, shopping!

I think it is vitally important that everyone takes an introspective look to see where they are currently as it relates to being happy and enjoying life. Ask yourself a few questions:

What ares in my life are monotonous?

Am I on autopilot, doing things without thinking about them, devoid of happiness or peace?

What have I been doing when I find myself in a bad space or at a place in my life where most things seem dreadful?

Seriously take time and think about your answers! After it is all said and done, when life programs the settings of stress and monotony, don’t be afraid to erase those settings. Simply identify where you are or are not and proceed to hit the default settings to your happy place.

Kat Simond ~An excellent day is waiting for you to have, so have it and See HIM only!

 

Image result for default button

A few preselected options!

-Whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Phil. 4:8

Published by See Him Only

"My heart is overflowing with a good theme; I recite my composition concerning the King; My tongue is the pen of a ready writer." Psalm 45:1 I am a believer first and foremost. I follow and abide under the Christian faith. I endeavor through this blog to take my life and let it be an example for others to find Love, Hope, Healing and Truth. There is only one way by which I found this to be possible and it is through our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. My life is based and led by His word and that only. I hope and pray that the things I share will motivate, inspire and educate you. " My heart is overflowing with a good theme; I recite my composition concerning the King; My tongue is the pen of a ready writer. Psalm 45:1

3 thoughts on “Default Settings

  1. Kathy, you never cease to amaze me with your writings…the revelation that you receive from a particular incident that happens to you in your life you always return to your first love which is Jesus. I will also hit my default button! Thank you I needed this word this morning! You are one of my favorite writers! I love reading your blog keep writing!

    1. Awwww! Thank you for always sowing seeds of love and support into my life. You make me want to write more. You inspire me more than you know. Blessings to you my friend. Have an excellent day!😘

      Kat

Share your thoughts

Bloomingdebre's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Kelly Fair The Mentor

Thought space for urban youth mentoring practitioner

chevonneshealinghealth

Exercising YOUR Faith- with Kat Simond

The Uncommon Cent

Just another WordPress.com site